When slowing down is (not) an option

In the past few years, life has become synonymous with books and writing. I have been writing at a frenzied pace, not because I am under any publisher’s deadline but because I feel so fortunate to find the time that I need to make the best use of it.

Looking back at my growing-up years (and I have had a wonderful childhood), I regret not having a notebook or journal. I might have been a much better writer had I paid more attention to what gave me joy. 

I started blogging only when I wanted a creative outlet outside my work. Life happened at a vigorous pace, and so did my writing. I would type while standing in a crowded bus, seated in a hired cab, or practically anywhere I could listen to my thoughts. Time was at a premium then. 

Reading through some of my hastily written posts, I thought they would have been better if I had more time. But I never questioned myself: What was the hurry? Why was I under pressure to hit the publish button? Instead, I had this farcical notion that I would be a better writer and a more profound thinker if only I had nothing else to do.

When this miscomprehension gained gigantic proportions, I began to dream of my ideal vocation: I would spend time on my writing desk beside a window overlooking a beautiful glade or a forest, penning the most beautiful stories, essays, and poems. I quit in pursuit of my dreams. I was lucky that way. I had the option to slow down and jump off the hamster wheel.

And then, I realised that the truth was far from ideal. 

Writing is not what happens when you pause to think deep thoughts; it is what you comprehend amidst life-affirming events. 

And no one in the real world slows down. Chores and errands are like water. If you make space for your passion and don’t fill it, they rush in immediately.

Amidst all the chaos and confusion around them, writers are constantly looking for and filling in their creative moments and spaces. In the real world, you will find them rushing from one chore to another, ticking off things on their list, and planning their day to help them find their writing time.

I follow different writing schedules on different days, depending on how busy my environment is. On some days, I am fortunate to get uninterrupted blocks of time. On other days, I am happy to slip to my desk whenever possible. Plan A is always the morning writing schedule, but if that doesn’t work, I have Plan B, C, D… you get the drift.

I don’t know if this is the right way of doing it, but I am sure of one thing. Slowing down is not an option.

An Announcement.

For over a year now, I have been posting weekend short stories on my substack, and I am happy to announce that the paperback version of the collection with a brand new cover is ready. You can buy it from NotionPress right now (Rs290/—plus Rs50/-delivery) or wait for it to be listed on Amazon (including international websites) by next week.

You can read my latest weekend short story here.

Leave a comment